When Opportunity Knocks

I felt a tap on my right shoulder. I whipped around in my swivel chair. “Can I talk to you for a minute?” W. Sensei asked me, clasping his hands together in anticipation.

“Sure. What’s up?” I said not noticing anything.

“You know the 3rd graders are going to start preparing for the high school entrance examinations soon…”

“Yeah…”

“Well, they will be studying in English class for four days a week. So I was thinking, ‘That is soo boring!’ So how about we do 3 days test preparation and on the day you come to class we do a conversation class?” W. Sensei said with a smile.

“Uhhh…” I stammered, not believing what I was hearing

“Does that sound like something  you’d like to do?”

“There isn’t anything I would like to do more…” I said resolutely, my mouth beginning to savor at the possibilities…

“Great!” Can you prepare some materials for some of the classes you’d like to do?” W. Sensei asked.

“Yes. I’ll write up something and have it for you by Friday.”

This is how it began. It began with an opportunity. 4 classes a week. 3 classes, total ennui, 1 class a miracle. 3 classes the same, 1 class remarkable.

Soon everyone will have the same opportunity, if not already. 4 English classes a week. What will you do with this opportunity? Perhaps it’s time to start knocking on some doors of your own…

