Repetition and Second Chances

It never ceases to amaze me how good repetition is in the classroom.

In its simplest form, it means stopping and repeating the directions I just gave in a slower, simpler way.

In the advanced form, it includes review, consistent use of classroom English, repeating a phrase 3 times to highlight intonation (when teaching reading or pronunciation), and so on.

I used to get embarrassed by the idea of having to repeat myself because I thought I should be smart enough to give the best explanation the first time.

But I’ve realized it’s not about that at all. It’s about giving the students a second chance to hear something they might not have caught at first.

Perhaps if I give them a second chance to understand, the students will give English a second chance, too.

