Eikaiwa in Every Class

eikaiwa cards, new and improved

eikaiwa cards, new and improved

I’ve updated my eikaiwa cards with new questions and better conversation flow after using the previous cards in classes over the past few weeks. While students do worksheets and test prep in the regular class I run a mini-eikaiwa at the back of the room so that I get a chance to speak with every student in the class. It is genuinely fulfilling work and the benefits to the students are unquestionable. I’ve made it clear to my students that it is not a test and and that saying, “I don’t know” is perfectly fine. After years of teaching in Japan this is one of the greatest projects I have done for myself and my students and I couldn’t recommend it more. I think it is the work that we ALTs ought to be doing.

I used construction paper to make the cards sturdier

I used construction paper to make the cards sturdier

At the end of the year it is the perfect time for you to start a project like this as well. Prep-time is almost zero. All you have to do is print out the cards and find one JTE who is willing and interested. Feel free to download my new eikaiwa cards. I uploaded them in word format so you can customize them for your students. I glued the front and back of each card to a bit of construction paper to make the cards sturdier. How you make them is up to you though.

First 9 Cards (Word Download)

Second 9 Cards (Word Download)

Card Backs (logo) (Word Download)

If you like this idea and want to see more like it, please share it with your friends on facebook.

4 Comments

  1. Great idea! I made a small set with card and covered them in plastic. The can you set and useful questions I gave to my special needs teacher as a going away present! As a second gift I will use them in class and show her how to use them. The useful questions cards I have been giving as gifts to my more active students to encourage them to continue to try hard. I am going to make 6 groups in class today and give each group a. basic set and setup an activity where each person has to ask a basic to each member, then pass the cards on so they all ask and all answer questions. I will give them 20 minutes for all 6 members to do it! I will float around ensuring they do it properly. Then I will change the target grammar to do you like playing, cooking, singing, making etc This is a 2nd grade class so it will challenge some of the weaker students. Thank you!

Comments are closed.